Everything you never wanted to know about author MATT GEIGER, and more!

I’ve done it!  I’ve lured my first interesting individual into the trap of answering my Q&A that I developed through extensive scientific research with the intent of bringing out very interesting tidbits from very interesting individuals.  (I used google… have you guys heard of this???) I also scraped the deepest wells of my own creativity to come up with these hard hitting questions that the PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW.  So you’re welcome.  And thank you. And also, here’s Matt:

3y5Xvcux
So writer, much wow.

 

Who is this Matt Geiger person, anyway?

From his bio on Goodreads.com:

“Journalist, author and armchair philosopher. Geiger’s first book, “The Geiger Counter: Raised by Wolves & Other Stories” (HenschelHaus) was named a Finalist in the 2017 Next Generation Indie Book Awards.

He studied philosophy and religion at Flagler College and writes about beer, axe throwing, competitive beard growing, parenting and many other topics for a variety of newspapers and magazines. He is the winner of numerous journalism awards.

He currently lives in Wisconsin with his wife, daughter, two dogs, a cat and a flock of chickens.”

22406168_10210492201487753_6827250188663708946_n
CAPTION-CEPTION! An event that Matt Geiger participated in for our writers group in October, which then got written about in the Middleton Times-Tribune! Gosh, they must have a really smart editor over there…

Matt also happens to be the editor for our city’s newspaper The Middleton Times-Tribune (among other publications), and recently participated in an event that I hosted at the Middleton Public Library for our Madison West Writers Group on the writing and publishing process.  Which was pretty darn awesome, I must say, thanks to our super amazing presenters! Aside from Matt Geiger, my lovely author friend and fellow Wisconsin Writers Association board member- Nicholas Chiarkas presented, along with Matt and Nick’s publisher Kira Henschel of HenschelHAUS Publishing. They all took it upon themselves to enlighten burgeoning writers on the journey toward getting published (and all the crap that goes with that).

16114347
Here is a photograph of Mr. Geiger in the wild, being all authory and whatnot. Good job, Matt!

Now without further ado, here are Matt’s answers to my extremely well thought out and pertinent questionnaire, with the BONUS addition of a question he added on for future participants!

QUESTIONNAIRE EXTRAORDINAIRE:

1) What were you like in high school?

 170 pounds of anxiety. Most people thought I was fairly cool, I suspect. I wore my hair long, read and talked about classic literature, and smoked tons of marijuana, which was fun. I could recite Lord Byron’s “She Walks in Beauty” from memory, which I think made me slightly alluring to some classmates. But I was so scared all the time. It was like a four-year panic attack.

2) Are you a creature of habit?

No. I abhor planning. I let the universe come to me. I’m not afraid to be surprised.

3) What are the types of thoughts that roll around in your head when you should be sleeping?

“I’m going to die someday. I’m going to die someday. I should really clean out the fridge. I’m going to die someday.” Etc.

4) When making an entrance into a party, do you make your presence known? Do you slip in and look for someone you know? Do you always need a party wingman? Or do you just stay at home in your jam jams?  The world needs to know.

I don’t go to many parties, but when I used to, I always enjoyed getting really drunk and telling lots and lots of stories.

5) What animal would you least like to be trapped in a room with?  

A homo sapiens who complains all the time. An absolutist of any kind.

6) What animal would you like to be in a room full of?

A homo sapiens who likes to talk about the world’s many mysteries. A dog, a cat, or a crow would also be acceptable for my needs.

7) Do you consider yourself “high maintenance?” Elaborate.

No. And low maintenance people tend not to elaborate much.

8) If you had the budget for this- what is one thing you would rather pay someone to do than do yourself? Why?

Work.

9) What are some qualities that draw you to someone new? 

Openness. Wisdom. I like people who understand that we know very little.

10) FUN FACT about yourself?

I have an abnormally high percentage of Neanderthal DNA.

11) If you could eliminate one weakness or limitation in your life, what would it be?

I would like to know I’ll live a long life. There are so many things I want to see through to the end – like my daughter’s youth, for instance – and the possibility that I might cease to exist at any moment leads to some anxiety.

12) What is something that amazes you?

Human language and the stories we tell with it.

13) Name one of the goals on the tippy top of your life’s bucket list.

To experience the world as it happens. To be present for things in real time. To be nostalgic, so to speak, for the present.

14) How have you accomplished or are working toward that goal?

I’m working on it…

15) Question you want to add to this list for future participants? 

“If you were a character in a Dickens novel, what would your name be?”

9a76bfdff84f8f5b6a12e3e0f7974f3a
Here is Matt holding a gigantic copy of his book entitled The Geiger counter:Raised by Wolves and other Stories, which he developed so that people are able to read it from across the room without getting out of their recliner (probably)

 

Thanks for participating in my questionnaire, Matt!  If you’d like to answer these super amazing questions for yourself, just hop on over to the original post with the blank Q&A then post your answers in the comments!

 

Meanwhile, I will be busy hunting for my next victim…

fa628d40480fda1cb08eda5b5b7abad7

Happy writing guys!

Adrienne

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

